Home : : IELTS

IELTS is the world’s most popular English language proficiency test for higher education and global migration. The test assesses all of your English skills — reading, writing, listening and speaking. IELTS is designed to reflect how you will use English at study, at work, and at play, in your new life abroad. The IELTS test, developed by some of the world’s leading experts in language assessment, has an excellent international reputation. The test is accepted worldwide including schools, universities, employers, immigration authorities and professional bodies. IELTS is the most widely accepted English language test that uses a one-on-one speaking test to assess your English communication skills. This means that you are assessed by having a real-life conversation with a real person. This is the most effective and natural way of testing your English conversation skills. You can take IELTS Academic or IELTS General Training – depending on the organisation you are applying to and your plans for the future. Whatever your reason for taking IELTS, make the most of your language skills.

Types of IELTS
There are two versions of IELTS to choose from:
IELTS Academic: You should take IELTS Academic to study at university at undergraduate or postgraduate level; or join a professional organisation in an English-speaking country.
IELTS General Training: You need to take IELTS General Training to train or study at below degree level; or work or undertake work-related training in an English-speaking country; or emigrate to an English-speaking country.
IELTS scores and test format

The IELTS test assesses your abilities in all four skills - listening, reading, writing and speaking - in under three hours.
You will take the Listening, Reading and Writing tests all on the same day one after the other, with no breaks in between them. They are always taken in this order. Your Speaking test will either be after a break on the same day as the other three tests, or up to seven days before or after that. This will depend on your test centre. 
Two versions of the test

There are two versions of the IELTS test format. Everyone takes the same Listening and Speaking tests, regardless of which version they take. The Reading and Writing tests differ in content, depending on whether you are taking IELTS Academic or IELTS General Training. IELTS Academic and IELTS General Training are assessed at exactly the same levels.
IELTS scores

You cannot fail the test. IELTS is designed to assess English language skills at all levels. You will receive IELTS scores based on each for the four skills on a scale of 1 – 9, and you will also be awarded an overall band score. You can score whole (e.g., 5.0, 6.0, 7.0) or half (e.g., 5.5., 6.5, 7.5) bands in each part of the test. Your overall band score may be crucial if you intend to emigrate, apply for university or take up a job in an English-speaking country.
Reading Section (Score of: 0–9)
Listening Section (Score of: 0–9)
Speaking Section (Score of: 0–9)
Writing Section (Score of: 0–9)
Overall Score (0–9) 
Who accepts IELTS?

IELTS is worldwide, including educational institutions, employers, governments, immigration authorities and professional bodies. You can find out the IELTS score you need to access the education, emigration, employment, professional registration or training opportunity of your choice by searching through the concerned links.
For more details, please click on http://www.ielts.org/